The Storm


Image

 

I stayed away from the pen,
I shunned all the books,
Stopped feeding my demons,
Dying each day in their fire.

I picked myself up,
And took one day at a time,
My blood gushed with resolve,
To lament no more.

I shed my tired skin,
Let go of the excess baggage,
Gave life a fair shot,
And welcomed the new dawn.

Mythical blessings were nowhere,
None of the delusional lies,
I fell in love with my present,
In spite of all the spite.

A year has since passed,
That girl is long gone,
A woman pens this down instead,
Enlightened after the storm.

2 responses to “The Storm

Leave a Reply

