Walls


6986502131_c34f139381

I lay brick over brick,
Laboriously I build,
Walls so tall around me,
So no one around can see.

I paint myself invisible,
I hide myself away,
Behind those walls, so mighty,
So no one can touch me, even slightly.

I welcome the night,
It brings with it the darkness,
A blanket, if you will,
Under which I can lie, still.

It’s not my fears,
That make me look away,
It’s the pain of my misery,
It’s us, and our history.

It’s the walking away,
It’s the breaking of hearts,
It’s how you tore me down,
Turned every smile to a frown.

It’s these walls alone,
That can keep me safe,
Away from the eyes,
Away from a love that dies.

I build these walls,
Brick by each brick,
To keep myself hidden,
To save me from the anarchy within.

2 responses to “Walls

  1. So very sad even when written so beautifully! I feel your emotion Sanya, and my heart cries because of your pain. But you are a gem, and never forget that there are many doors to go through in life…one will embrace you so graciously and never let you go, and your heart will rest secure…the time will soon come…just believe and not give up on love! God bless dear sister!

Leave a Reply

