Two Can Play That Game


love hate relationship

In my mind’s eye I see,
A life of compounded complexity,
Days in each other collide,
In no one can I now confide.

Running through life,
Leaving all behind,
Yet waiting for you,
All this I wish you knew.

On the sidelines of my life,
I stand and look at myself,
All I can see in my heart,
Is the longing for a fresh start.

In the blink of an eye,
All the colors change,
And once again I’m lost,
And my heart’s encased in frost.

Friends have fallen away,
Foes have taken me in their embrace,
Family seems to flee,
And I want you with me.

Life is shorter than I thought,
Seems like just yesterday,
Was our story’s start,
When nothing could keep us apart.

Blessed be our younger selves,
For wiser still they had been,
To pause and drink in the love,
Their minds as free as a dove.

As I walk away from the memory,
Step after step in a new direction,
I wish it was towards you that I came,
Just so you know, two can play that game.

5 responses to “Two Can Play That Game

  1. When two “play that game”, the well they’ve fallen into is all of guilt and shame.
    Yet, when one “plays that game”, the other steps away free and strong.
    Games break trust, where integrity stands strong.

    Blessings…

    • Hi Chris,
      That’s pretty much the idea. That while I’ve waited, learned and unlearned the ways of the world, i’ve also come to learn the games ppl play. And I still continue to live by the longing of love.
      Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  2. I know I’ve said it before, but I feel as thought I had written this because of the sentiment I can so clearly relate to. Nicely done my friend. Merry Christmas and blessings to you and your family half a world away.

  3. Well, one of the best things in life you still have the ones who love what you share and write so beautifully, and who are consistent with their friendship asking for nothing in return…that is a pure love that always stay…and a little comfort until you find your life love who will stay and lift your heart each day! Sanya Merry Christmas, and may your life always be blessed! And we will always be one in spirit so you can always count on that! Very nicely written with a lot of passion! Much love to you always!

Leave a Reply

