Walking Away


Image

Days have gone by since,
Since we sat hand in hand,
Since we spoke into the night,
Since we walked in the sand.

You took me surprise,
As you said you’ll be by my side,
I could only watch in wonder,
As the world seemed to hide.

Things have changed now,
You’re apprehensive,
About what we have,
You’re so defensive.

Intimidated by the intimacy,
Afraid of the light,
Unfortunately it isn’t me,
Who you seem to be with in a fight.

We don’t talk about us anymore,
We talk in dialogues of blames,
Friends and enemies the same,
Who just play nasty games.

You and I were walking together,
Or such was what I had thought,
But my naivety be damned,
Now it turns out we’re not.

But i’m happy to walk away,
I know how bad hearts can ache,
I’m happy to be your friend,
Unlike lovers, friends are never fake.

So I’ll sit with you still,
And live along with you each day,
I’ll kill my heart,
As I’m walking away.

2 responses to “Walking Away

  1. I love the you I see…the strong and solid you, the feisty you, and the realist! Your poem is awesome and a beautiful way to end a realationship…you open yourself to new doors where one will come to you who will treasure you and never take their love away from your life…for you will become one together! I am sad you heart is hurt but your will blossom even more! Much love to you Sanya, and sweet blessings to embace you at night!

Leave a Reply

