The Girl In The Mirror


Just around the corner,
You’ll find a tiny little shop,
Easily missed by many,
Sells treasures shinier than gold.

An old woman sits there,
With millions of stories to tell,
Of lives spent searching,
Of the treasures of her shop.

Curious are the wares,
Only visible to the enlightened,
Those who know what they want,
And those who have once lost.

Fables of this shop I’d heard,
Strange stories of the patrons,
Entered but never left,
For they say she sold bits of heaven.

So I set out one fine day,
To find the truth for myself,
A few coins, was all I had,
In return for her treasures.

She saw me enter nervously,
And guided me to this corner,
I saw a girl, looking back at me,
I couldn’t look away, I just couldn’t.

She was happy, contentment in her eyes,
Satisfied with the love in her life,
She looked back at me with serenity,
A tear slowly rolled down my cheek.

The old woman held my hand,
And handed me the mirror,
In which I’d been looking at the girl,
Who had it all, right between her eyes.

As I broke into tears,
She said to me with love,
You are your own desires,
And to find them, you need not look far.

I walked back home that night,
My coins and my mirror in my hand,
A smile on my face and peace in my heart,
That in my mirror lies my desire..

12 responses to “The Girl In The Mirror

  1. Sanya, your poem is more than lovely and very deep. Its amazing what we can find if we only open our spiritual eyes to see what is alive within! You are always a wonderful and lovely person my sister…they always say that a mirror never lies. Have a blessed and beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

