Mea Culpa


The light within that shines,
The one that dims with time,
Through no one’s folly,
But my own, Mea Culpa.

The cross i bear upon my heart,
That wasn’t there from the start,
Its carved out of no one’s sins,
But my own, Mea Culpa.

Nightmares that I see at night,
Of my and my beloved’s fight,
The doom of no one’s love,
But my own, Mea Culpa.

The way the world looks at me,
This world that I want to flee,
The unrest is no one’s,
But my own, Mea Culpa.

Utter silence of my soul,
A heart as burnt as coal,
Is there no one left to save me,
But me alone, Mea Culpa.

I confess to my sins,
And welcome in me the pins,
Of god’s punishment and my karma,
For my salvation alone, Mea Culpa.

What remains with me now,
Is just the when and the how,
Of my past and the lessons learnt,
All just my own, Mea Culpa.

But daylight is here once more,
To sooth my soul so sore,
I begin to heal with love,
With me remains, Mea Culpa.

Hands folded again in prayer,
I kneel in reverence of my past,
For it’s been my greatest teacher,
And will save me from Mea Culpa.

And while the karmic powers,
Conspire and aspire for me,
I shall forever remember,
Mea Culpa, Mea Culpa, Mea Maximus Culpa…

8 responses to “Mea Culpa

  1. Sanya, awesome poem, passionate words and desire…hold not the past, but receive the selfless nature within your heart from life’s creator…self dies in rebirth of ones spirit…blossom dear, stand up and blossom, when He heard your prayers, you were forgiven…build with that assurance that He never changes! Blessings to you my sister! You are always in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

