I Fly Alone.


There’s such anarchy within,
There’s a war just waiting to begin,
Blindfold on, I forge ahead,
I wont retreat, I’ll fight instead.

Breath caught in my chest,
Trying to carry on like I know best,
I pray everyday for the arrival of change,
Being in my skin, now too feels strange.

I remember those long bed time stories,
Of witches, warlocks and pretty fairies,
What lies and false pictures we are fed,
The cause of the miserable lives we’ve led.

More like me, I’m sure there must be,
Hiding somewhere, or displaying their misery,
The bliss of ignorance now a lost pleasure,
Of the emptiness inside, there can be no measure.

Lives spent waiting for a knight,
Unaware, we’re in the Devils’s line of sight,
Falling in love with enemy head on,
Hearts broken, bruised and beyond.

Does everyone break the way I do?
Does pain spare even a few?
I see broken hearts in every corner,
Each one of us, our own mourner.

Twinkling eyes, now look dulled,
Emotions lie killed, senses lulled,
An elite club we make, don’t we?
Of ghosts, ghouls and zombies.

My brethren is the undead,
My companion dark dread,
But I still soldier on regardless,
The will to go on, relentless.

I promise myself one simple thing,
I’ll never take another in my wing,
Call it what you will, this heart is made of stone,
From this his time on, ย I fly alone.

18 responses to “I Fly Alone.

  1. I like the line where I see broken hearts in every corner..
    True I guess a broken heart is visible to all ..
    but life is such (as the above comment) .. you win some you lose some … and mourn we all do

  2. You are not alone, and I can relate to that last sentence that you fly alone. After all the pains it just don’t feel like believing in something again. Maybe if you get many frequent flyer miles you’ll try an award flight someday ๐Ÿ™‚ (ok bad humor)

    Awesome writing Sanya!

      • Well there is inspiration potential hidden somewhere I imagine. Pull something out of a shadow, focus on it, and put everything else aside. Open your petals and allow in the dew or sunlight.

        Eastern Isle Flower

        An inland flower gathers
        herself and thoughts of the day
        To close her petals until morn
        as she looks to the moon to say
        Take me on a beam
        to a twilight of bliss
        Before I blossom tomorrow
        as I receive the sun’s kiss

        Soon the morning dew
        gives birth to a smile
        As a flower blesses again
        observers on her isle
        No one shall pluck
        that art from the soil
        For she gives them peace
        in a world filled with toil

        SM
        12 Dec 2011

  3. its been long an ah another one that touched my soul…its the loss of ignorance or should I say anger of being the one stabbed by the one u always dreamt to be forever yours turned out to be a imposter………….good one!!

  4. That’s a nice poem! I stumbled upon your site while googling my own (which is on a totally different subject, traveling). Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

